Chat Now Ask a question by chat

How to wipe out a BlackBerry 10 device safely

Are you planning to change your BlackBerry phone with the latest BlackBerry Z10 or BlackBerry Q10? However, securing your data before selling, exchanging or even returning to your office is necessary. iYogi Tech Tips brings a safe and secure way to wipe your data from a BlackBerry 10 device.

Before you wipe your BlackBerry device, it is best to use BlackBerry Link to back it up. Once you erase your device, it is going to be permanent. So, if at any point you need the data at a later point, this backup is going to be helpful.

Once you have taken a backup, you need to launch the Settings app and tap on the “Security and Privacy” option.
At the bottom of the screen, you will find “Security Wipe”; tap on it.

You now have to type “blackberry” into the text field at the bottom before moving to the next step. This is one way; BlackBerry does a double check and avoids accidental wiping of the device. Once you key in the password and tap on the Delete Data button, your device will begin resetting itself to the factory state.

The time taken to complete the process will depend on the amount of data stored on your BlackBerry.

Keep reading for more iYogi Tech Tips.

  • Call Us

    Get in touch with iYogi.
    Call us toll free 1 800 237 3901.

    Connect to a Technician

    Connect to our tech experts
    remotely through the Internet.

    Get a Fast Resolution

    Our experts will diagnose and fix your
    tech issues in no time.

iYogi